Big Library Read Big Library Read
Lady Ice

What did people think of the recipes?

Lady Ice    0

Do you think they added anything to the book? They were annoying at times but seemed to fit with the author’s assertion that cooking was an escape for her.

I was not interested in the receipts and skipped over them.I am more interested in reading and writing than I am in cooking.I found that it  was a source of distraction.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

LibraryFan    0

I loved the quick and easy recipes, which corresponded with the preceding chapter.  Looking at the ingredients and instructions, I thought about my sister in Tulsa, who loves to cook using her garden produce and would like this book too, because of the recipes.  I also thought about Jennifer McGaha's creativity in taking a published recipe, which she credited and repurposing it to fit what she had on hand.   

JulieF    0

I am a cook and a gardener so I enjoyed the recipes. However, I don't think they added anything to the book. I would have preferred text explaining how she cooked her dishes.

AshHope94    0

I switched between the audiobook and text depending on what situation I was reading in, so I may have missed a few recipes. A lot of them seemed a little too boujie for me, but I might try out the citrus chicken marinade or the Cajun shrimp. I did find it charming that she had such a huge passion for food that most of her memories seem centered around those good times. In that way, the recipes did seem relevant, but you certainly don't miss anything by skipping over them if that's not your thing.

TempFruit    2

I thought they were a nice touch. Some I read, some I skipped. I think having them at the end of the chapters was nice so that you could take them or leave them. I wouldn't say they were necessary to the story.

• Like 2